Munich FFA Chapter hosted first Annual FFA Banquet

The Munich FFA Chapter hosted its first Annual FFA Banquet in conjunction with the Munich TSA. Twenty-six FFA members and their parents attending the banquet. At the banquet several awards were presented to individuals for their contributions and accomplishments through the year.

The Munich Chapter presented Munich Elevator and Oil, represented by Manager Terry Hall, the Honorary Chapter Award for their support and contributions to the FFA Chapter. The chapter presented the Discovery Degree to Taryn Amble, Markus Kingzett, Amelia Hall, Patrick Haus, Paul Haus, Halle Jabs and Cordell Walters. The Discovery Degree is presented to Jr. High members in their first year of membership. Cordell Walters was named the Outstanding Discovery Degree member for his involvement in the chapter. Cordell is a member of the livestock judging team, land judging team, range judging team, meat judging team and was also the chapter’s high sales person in fruit sales.

The Chapter presents the Greenhand Degree to its first year high school members. This year recipients were Lauren Baril, Cooper Zimmer, Drew McArthur, Isak Dease, Jagger Worley, Dawson Biby and Caleb Woodrow. The Star Greenhand award was presented to both Dawson Biby and Caleb Woodrow. Dawson and Caleb have been extremely active members of the chapter competing in parliamentary procedure, meat judging for two year and have attended both the State and National FFA Conventions.

Members can fill out FFA Proficiency award applications based on the efforts they put forth in their Supervised Agricultural Experience Programs. Each application is scored on the local level and then the top two in each area can advance on to the district level. This year’s students completing applications were: Michael Kraft – Ag Services, Tige Hertzell – Diversified Crop Production Placement, Dylan Hall- Grain Production Placement, Braden Harder – Diversified Crop Production Placement, Chase Peebles – Ag Mechanics Repair and Maintenance, Denver Biby – Turf Grass Management, Brett Myers – Crop Production Placement, Josh Hettwer – Grain Production Placement and Ordale Morstad – Diversified Crop Production Placement. This year Tige, Chase, Michael, and Dylan advanced onto district completion. In districts all applications are scored, and the top two in each district advance onto state completion where a winner will be named at the ND State Convention at NDSU in June. Tige, Chase, Dylan and Michael all advanced past district to state.

Tige Hertzell was awarded the Star Chapter Farmer for the work he does with his Supervised Agricultural Experience Project. This year Tige’s project include a field of HRSW and employment at Hertzell farms. Michael Kraft earned the Star in Ag Placement award for his project, which includes working for Kraft Custom Harvesting. The final award of the banquet was for the “Outstanding FFA Member.” This award is presented to the member who has achieved more than all other members. This year’s “Outstanding FFA Member” was Erika Simpson. Erika attended both state and national convention; served as one of the chapter’s official delegates and was a member of the quiz team, range team, land team, meats team and livestock judging team.

North Dakota was represented by both the Munich FFA Chapter and the Turtle Lake-Mercer FFA Chapter in the Midwest Regional meat-judging contest held at Oklahoma State University in Stillwater Oklahoma on April 14th. The schools combined to form two teams. The team members placed classes of beef carcasses, pork carcasses, T-bone steaks, pork loins, and beef ribs and answered ten questions related to the classes. The team members must also quality and yield grade six beef carcasses according to USDA standards. The final part of the contest for team is to identify all of the beef, pork and lamb retail cuts of meat. The members must identify the animal species of cut, primal cut of the animal, the retail name of the cut and the proper cooking method for thirty different retail cuts.

Team one consisted of Rhea Liab and Ryeleigh Liab of Turtle Lake- Mercer and Caleb Woodrow and Dawson Biby from Munich. Team two consisted of Aaron Klein of Turtle Lake –Mercer, Cordell Walters of Munich/Cando and Drew McArthur of Munich. Team one placed sixth and team two placed tenth in the contest. The team would like to thank the Langdon Eagles club for helping sponsor their trip to Oklahoma.